Oh yes, people. A chip that promises to be both healthy and delicious. To be honest, I don’t think I’d ever had kale until today. In fact, I think I thought it was a type of seaweed before reading more about it. I recognized its ruffly leaves as a common decoration on party platters. But if it hadn’t been for this pin, I wouldn’t have had a clue what to do with it. I have since read that it’s great to puree and mix into baby food since it’s so nutritious (must try).

So today was the big day. I bought kale during my last trip to the grocery store and decided to give the recipe a try. My husband was less than excited when I announced what I was making for our afternoon snack. The recipe was super easy. It would be easy to over-coat the kale with EVOO, so watch yourself if you are like me and prefer not to go to the trouble of measuring. I just used a seasoning I had in my cabinet, which was Mrs. Dash Southwest Chipotle Seasoning Blend. Salt-free is nice and healthy and all, but I love salt, so I added just a little. Bake for 20 min. as instructed and you get some very crispy little chips.

I thought these were awesome, and I plan to make them for a little gathering I’m hosting next week. Crispy and tasty, with a little kick. Even my skeptical husband thought they were really good. So there you have it — kale chips are a thumb’s up.


Now might be a good time to mention photography on this blog. While some of the contributors are very talented photographers, I am not. I don’t attend blogging conferences and I have never taken a class on how to take photos for a blog. So keep your expectations low and you won’t be disappointed.

Original source: a Couple Cooks
Difficulty (1-5): 1
Result (1-5): 5

-Meghan

