I love any recipe that turns out looking professionally made and basically makes me look good. 🙂 When I pinned this mini deep dish fruit pizza recipe, I was surprised by how easy it looked. I decided to try it for a play date recently since it seemed like something kiddos would dig.

My first step was to make the cookie cups. I was convinced that the blogger left out a step in her instructions, so after rolling the sugar cookie dough into balls, I pinched it up around the sides of my mini cupcake pan. FAIL. Listen to the woman and just put the little dough balls in the pan and bake them. To create an indentation in the “crusts,” I made a thumb print on them just as they came out of the oven. They will cool in the perfect shape.

Then the “frosting.” Her recipe calls only for cream cheese and whipped topping, but I thought it wasn’t quite sweet enough, so I added 1/4 cup sugar to it. This frosting pipes beautifully into the little cups using a freezer bag as she instructs.

For my fruit topping, I quartered strawberries, which I stuck into my little frosting mounds. Then I added a blueberry and called it finished because I was too lazy to peel kiwis and this looked like plenty to me.

Not only do they look great, ZOMG are they delicious. They got rave reviews from the play date attendees and from my neighbors. They’re a great finger food for parties.

Original source: Banner Boutique
Difficulty (1-5): I’ll give it a 2 because of the multiple steps, but it really was easy.
Result (1-5): BAM! It gets a 5.

-Meghan

