This recipe caught my eye this spring when I was looking for a make-ahead baked good that was somewhat healthy. I was attending a weekend-long event where you end up eating crap all.day.long (and all night, too). Unlike Florence Dusty, I’m not known for my muffin, but I do usually make breakfast for the group one day.

Here are some procedural changes I made to the recipe.

  • Used a mini-muffin tin, and baked them for about 15 minutes
  • Used a microplane to remove the zest from the lemon, and then just whisked it into the sugar
  • Mixed in the wet ingredients  with the sugar by hand in a bowl

For the one day before I wanted to serve them, I stored them in an airtight container on the counter. Any leftovers (only a few, as I’d made a double batch) after that went in the fridge, and a few seconds in the microwave before eating was perfect.

Original source: http://www.fitnessmagazine.com/recipes/recipecomdetail.jsp?recipeId=25124371
Difficulty (1-5):  2 (need special tool(s), but nothing out of the ordinary otherwise)
Result (1-5):  5  could they be healthier?  Yep.  But they taste good and still more nutritional than a donut

~ CO-M

