I am a sucker for soup on a cold fall day. Well actually I’m a sucker for soup pretty much all of the time. I recently pinned the recipe for hamburger vegetable soup. I almost never keep ground beef in our house so I substituted ground turkey which is a staple for us. I was very pleased by the relative easiness of this recipe and the great results. Besides for the substitution of turkey and leaving out thyme as a seasoning I followed the recipe exactly. The only thing that I would do differently next time is less salt. The recipe told you to use between 1 tablespoon and 2 1/2 tablespoons of salt I think. Knowing our deep love for salt in my family I used 2 tablespoons. I think 2 tablespoons was too much. Next time I think I will use 1 1/2 tablespoons or possibly even just 1. The kids enjoyed this the first time I fed it to them but by the next day I think they figured out how many vegetables were actually in it and both refused to eat it. I will definitely make this recipe again, It was great to bring for lunches at work and my husband enjoyed it a lot too.

20121014-131148.jpg

