This pin is definitely not one of the popular pins that 500 million people on pinterest have pinned but it was one of the better recipes I have tried. I know a lot of us are looking to eat better and looking for an easy meal and this was a great one. The recipe for turkey meatballs is also a clean eating recipe so basically it involves only ingredients that are as close to their original form as possible and not highly processed.
I deviated from the recipe just a bit because it made a lot. The recipe called for 3 pounds of ground turkey. I did not want to make so much in case I did not like it. I used 1 pound of ground turkey instead. Because I used so much less turkey I lowered the seasonings. All of the seasonings called for 1 tablespoon, I used a half tablespoon for each seasoning and that works fine except for paprika which called for 2Tbsp, I used 1 Tbsp. The recipe also called for purple onions. I hate red/purple onions with a passion I substituted white onion instead. The recipe suggested fish oil or salt, I bet you can guess what I used. I used salt. One other change that I made was to cook the green peppers, onion, and garlic before putting them in the mix. I just prefer cooked onion and green pepper, personal preference I think.
To actually put all the ingredients together including sauté peppers and onions and garlic it took me less than 10 minutes. I use a muffin tin as directed and the same amount of time. They came out really good, very flavorful. I served it to the boys with spaghetti sauce and whole-wheat spaghetti noodles. I ate them plain with a side of veggies and squash. I will definitely make these again and I think I will start freezing them as well.

20121108-192304.jpg

